BSIA announces TGI Steering Committee

The Balsillie School of International Affairs (BSIA) is pleased to announce its Technology Governance Initiative (TGI) Steering Committee. Comprising members from both partner institutions with deep interests and experience in the policy and technology realms, the Committee is well-positioned to advise on this important initiative for the School.

“We were very pleased with the level of interest and the caliber of applicants we received when we issued the call for expressions of interest,” said BSIA Director Ann Fitz-Gerald. “I have no doubt that this Committee will help guide the School successfully through this new and exciting domain.”

The TGI Steering Committee members include: Co-Chair Jenna Hennebry, Professor at Wilfrid Laurier University (Communication Studies); Co-Chair Jatin Nathwani, Professor at the University of Waterloo (Management Science and Engineering); Azam Asilian Bidgoli, Assistant Professor at Wilfrid Laurier University (Computer Science); Paul Heidebrecht, Director of the Kindred Credit Union Centre for Peace Advancement at the University of Waterloo; Peter A. Johnson, Associate Professor at the University of Waterloo (Geography and Environmental Management); and Alexander Lanoszka, Associate Professor at the University of Waterloo (Political Science).

The Committee is tasked with providing guidance on the four technology governance pillars (Balsillie Scholars Program, Student Development, Technology Governance Case Studies and the Balsillie Survey); advise on industry and government liaisons on issues concerning emerging transformative technologies; and work closely with the BSIA Director in evolving the concept of an ‘emerging transformational technology ecosystem’, which impacts on international affairs and which will inform much of what the School takes forward in this domain.

Scroll to Top